1914 (compendium)

In 1914, before World War II, Kyiv was one of the largest cities of the Russian Empire. The number of its population was 626 000 persons. The main factors of the rapid growth of Kyiv in the period of capitalism was coming to a city railroad (1870) and converting it into a financial and industrial center. Kiev Exchange distinguished primarily trade chief wealth Naddniprianshchyna - sugar.

Once separated from each division, and Old Kyiv Pechersk merged into one unit and "covered with" new quarters. Back in 1830 there are new parts of the city - sticky, and New Buildings. For three decades that preceded World War unrecognizably changed masonry. Instead of wooden houses with gardens and garden come tall stone, standing close to each other. On the ground floors of these buildings contained shops and offices, the rest of the occupied apartments that were rented by people with average income. The richest people of the same living in their mansions, centered mainly in Linden. Living Center were using the water supply, sanitation, electric lighting, telephone. Streets were covered with stones, and in 1892 went first electric tram in the empire. Earlier on ordinary buildings dominated the church, now decorated with a series of city public buildings - schools, theaters, museums. However, erectedOval and new churches, and different religions - such as the Vladimir Cathedral Church of St.. Nicholas Choral Synagogue.

recognized center of city life became Khreshchatyk. At this young street fashion focused stores, popular cafes, bank branches, and finally, building city council - the elected body of government. Another center of power was located in Linden palace governor general - governor of three provinces that formed the Southwest region.

Suburbs - Kurenivka, Luk'yanivka, Shulyavka, Solomyanka, Demeevka, menagerie - still his little buildings are different from ordinary villages. However, much of their residents now work in industry, which produced foodstuffs, machinery and equipment, building materials. The owners of large factories began to build for their workers organized villages - such as Chokolovka. There are other villages - summer (Svyatoshyn, Karavaevy, outside the map and Pusha Voditsa Darnitsa). This summer rush wealthy residents of the center, tired noise, dust and polluted air - inseparable companions of the city.

1914 год (конспект)

В 1914 году, накануне Первой мировой войны, Киев был одним из крупнейших городов Российской империи. Численность его населения составляла 626 000 человек. Главными факторами стремительного роста Киева в период капитализма были приход в город железной дороги (1870 год) и его превращения в финансовый и промышленный центр. Киевская биржа отличалась прежде всего торговлей главным богатством Приднепровья - сахаром

Когда отделены друг от друга Подол, Старый Киев и Печерск слились в единое целое и «обросли» новыми кварталами. Еще в 1830-е годы возникли новые части города - Липки и Новая Застройка. За три десятилетия, предшествовавшие мировой войне, неузнаваемо изменилась застройка центра. На смену деревянным домикам с садиками и огородами пришли многоэтажные каменные, стоявших вплотную друг к другу. На первых этажах этих сооружений содержались магазины и конторы, остальное занимали квартиры, которые арендовали люди со средним достатком. Самые же киевляне жили в собственных особняках, сосредоточенных преимущественно в Липках. Жители центра стали пользоваться водопроводом, канализацией, электрическим освещением, телефоном. Улицы покрылись мостовой, а в 1892 году пошел первый в империи электрический трамвай. Если раньше над рядовым застройкой господствовали церкви, то теперь город украсила ряд общественных зданий - учебные заведения, театры, музеи. Впрочем, сооруженувалы и новые храмы, причем разных религий - такие как Владимирский собор, костел святого Николая, Хоральная синагога.

Признанным центром городской жизни стал Крещатик. На этой молодой улице сосредоточились модные магазины, популярные кафе, банковские конторы и, наконец, здание городской думы - выборного органа управления. Другим очагом власти находился в Липках дворец генерал-губернатора - правителя трех губерний, которые образовывали Юго-Западный край

Пригород - Куреневка, Лукьяновка, Шулявка, Соломенка, Демеевка, Зверинец - прежнему своей застройкой мало отличались от обычных деревень. Однако значительная часть их обитателей теперь работала на промышленных предприятиях, производивших пищевые продукты, машины и оборудование, строительные материалы. Владельцы крупных заводов начали сооружать для своих рабочих упорядочены поселка - такие, как Чоколовка. Появились и другие поселки - дачные (Святошин, Караваевы дачи, расположенные вне картой Пуща-Водица и Дарница). Сюда летом спешили состоятельные жители центра, уставшие шумом, пылью и загрязненным воздухом - неотъемлемыми спутниками большого города