1240 (compendium)

1240 Batu Khan's army and defeated the earned capital of Russia. On the eve of the crash Kyiv was one of the largest cities in Europe with a population of 35-50 thousand people. As with the first dukes, the city consisted of aristocratic Mountains and democratic hem .

Gore defended the two lines of rollers. The first of them built by Vladimir Svyatoslavich (as scientists call it a protected area "city of Vladimir") , second - by Yaroslav the Wise (" Vegetable Garden Yaroslav "). on the mountain were located the main church - Church of the Tithes and Hagia Sophia, monasteries, princely and boyar courtyard. The division was inhabited by craftsmen and merchants. Its central square - Torhovysche - graced the Church of Our Lady Pirogoschey, which began near Mill descent - the path that connected the Division of Hill.

with the city were closely related to its surroundings - suburban villages, fortified princely and boyar villages and monasteries. Among the largest monasteries was Caves. The name is because the first monks, led by the Venerable Anthony and Theodosius, lived in caves. Later temples and erected on the surface of cells and caves became the burial place of monks and cloistered prayer. Rooks was one of the main centers of Old Rus culture, its walls were living chronicler Nestor, iconographer Alipio, healer Agapit.

1240 год (конспект)

1240 войско хана Батыя получило и разрушило столицу Руси. Накануне этой катастрофы Киев был одним из крупнейших городов Европы с населением 35-50 тысяч человек. Как и при первых князей, город состоял из аристократической Горы и демократического Подола

Гору защищали две линии валов. Первую из них построили за Владимира Святославича (так ученые назвали защищенную ею территорию "город Владимира") , вторую - за Ярослава Мудрого (" город Ярослава "). На Гори были расположены главные храмы - Десятинная церковь и Софийский собор, монастыри, княжеские и боярские дворы. Подол был заселен ремесленниками и купцами. Его центральную площадь - Торговище - украшала церковь Богородицы Пирогощи, у которой начинался Боричев спуск - путь, соединявший Подол с Горой

С городом были тесно связаны его окрестности - пригородные села, укрепленные княжеские и боярские дворы, монастыри. Среди монастырей наибольшим был Печерский. Такое название объясняется тем, что первые монахи, возглавляемые преподобными Антонием и Феодосием, жили в пещерах. Впоследствии храмы и кельи построили на поверхности, а пещеры стали местом погребения монахов и уединенной молитвы. Печерский монастырь был одним из главных центров древнерусской культуры, в его стенах жили летописец Нестор, иконописец Алипий, целитель Агапит